Categories crunchfx

Get to Know the T20I India Women’s Cricket Team

They say cricket is like a religion in India, and for good reason. When I was growing up, there was hardly a household that didn’t have the sport on TV. By evening, there were groups of little boys playing cricket on almost every street. Every time India won a big victory, people would flock to the streets to celebrate. People at school even became friends because they were die-hard fans of the same IPL team. It’s just ThereIt has become so ingrained in our daily lives that life without it is almost unthinkable.

Yet, amidst all the celebrations and the debates between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore, no one has realised that cricket is actually just a man’s sport for most of us. While the Women’s Premier League is a much-needed step in taking our female champions to the mainstream, only a few can name more than two or three female cricketers, not to mention have a good idea of ​​the heights the Women in Blue have reached.

In case you missed it, the Indian Women’s Cricket Team pulled off a huge victory against South Africa in the final match of the women’s T20 series. It was also their biggest win against the Proteas, where they completed a chase of 85 runs in ten and a half overs. That’s not their only feat: the women have won the Asian Games a record seven times, won silver at the 2022 Commonwealth Games and even made it to the Women’s Twenty20 International World Cup finals in 2020.

If you know all of this, I am proud of you. If you don’t, it’s never too late to start. And speaking of starting points, continue reading below to know about the T20I Women’s Indian Team.

Harmanpreet Kaur

Captain Harmanpreet Kaur has been a prominent figure in women’s cricket. She is also the captain of Mumbai Indians in the Women’s Premier League. The talented batsman has impressed people time and again with her extraordinary skills on the field, for example, she scored a record-breaking 171 runs in 115 balls against Australia in the 2017 World Cup.

Smriti Mandhana

Vice Captain Smriti Mandhana She is the first Indian woman to score consecutive centuries in ODI cricket and made headlines when she led the women’s RCB team to victory in the WPL. The left-handed batsman also scored a half-century in the Twenty20 against South Africa, securing their decisive victory in the finals.

Pooja Vastrakar

All-rounder Pooja Vastrakar, a long-standing member of the Women in Blue, produced a career-best bowling performance against South Africa, taking 4-13 to win both the Player of the Match and Player of the Series awards.

Shafali Verma

Batsman Shafali Verma became the youngest cricketer to play in a women’s T20 match for the Indian Cricket Team at the age of 15. She also became the fastest woman to score a double-hunt in Women’s Test cricket and the second woman after Mithali Raj to do so.

Uma Chetri

Riyan Parag became the first Assamese male cricketer to play at the senior national team level, but much before him, wicketkeeper Uma Chetry became the first Assamese cricketer to play internationally for Team India.

Richa Ghosh

Wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh is also one of the youngest members of the team. She and Smriti Mandhana are the only two women selected for the 2024 Women’s Hundred, a 100-ball cricket tournament involving eight teams in major cities across England and Wales.

Sajeevan Sajana

Sajeevan Sajana went viral with his jaw-dropping six in Mumbai Indians’ first match of the WPL when he needed five runs off a single ball to secure his team’s victory. As if that wasn’t enough, this was also the debut match of the passionate cricketer who fought against all odds to make it into the Indian cricket team.

Jemimah Rodriguez

Jemimah Jessica Rodrigues is the second woman after Smriti Mandhana to make a double century in a 50 over cricket match. Furthermore, the all-rounder is also an ardent hockey player and even played for the Maharashtra Under-17 field hockey team.

Deepti Sharma

Deepti Sharma is the highest-ranked all-rounder in the country and ranked fourth in the world. She plays for Bengal and Birmingham Phoenix as well as for the Indian team.

Shreyanka Patil

Bowler Shreyanka Patil created history when she became the first Indian Cricketer to play in the Women’s Caribbean Premier League. She also plays for Karnataka and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Radha Yadav

Known for her aggressive style on the field, Bowler Radha Yadav plays for Mumbai, Baroda and West Zone teams.

Asha Shobhana

Asha Shobhana made history by becoming the oldest Indian woman to make her international cricket debut at the age of 33. The all-rounder plays for RCB in the WPL and for her local cricket team Pondicherry.

Renuka Thakur

Pace bowler Renuka Singh Thakur was the leading wicket-taker in the 2019-20 Women’s One-Day League. She plays for the Indian women’s cricket team as well as Royal Challengers Bangalore and Himachal Pradesh.

Arundhati Reddy

All-rounder Arundhati Reddy made her international debut against Sri Lanka in 2018. This year, the Delhi Capitals cricketer made a comeback to the T20I format after a three-year hiatus.

Based on Hemalatha


Dayalan Hemalatha plays for Gujarat Giants in the WPL and Railways in his domestic cricket. The batsman made his one-day international debut against Sri Lanka in 2018.